Home > Fiction, Random thoughts > I need to do something extraordinary

I need to do something extraordinary

All writers must feel this.  I know I do.

I need to write a book.  I need it to be extraordinary.

I don’t need it to win awards.  I don’t need it to top the bestseller lists.  I don’t need it to earn me appearances on Opera or offers for film rights or honorary doctorates from fancy universities.

I do need it to mean something to someone. That’s all.  I need it to make someone feel strongly.

This says it better than I ever could.  I guess I just need my book to matter.

  1. Lua
    February 24, 2010 at 3:27 pm

    That feeling of “needing to do something extraordinary”, how life consuming is that?! 🙂
    I often feel like I have to tell a story no one has ever told, or say something no one has ever said and it is downright exhausting…
    But like you say, it’s a need, so I guess until we do something about it; write that book, tell that story etc., it’s not going to go away. In a way that is our motivation, isn’t it? 🙂

  2. February 28, 2010 at 9:40 pm

    You could say, perhaps, that this is my black cat.

  3. Lua
    March 1, 2010 at 5:03 am

    Nicely put… it is your black cat indeed! 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

