Home > Copywriting, Fiction > Why copywriting is a great day job for an aspiring author—No. 2

Why copywriting is a great day job for an aspiring author—No. 2

Okay, this probably should have been number one, but here goes:

Practice

The more you write, the better you get.  Simple.

I used to work as a barmaid.  Loads of friends suggested that this should provide me with great inspiration for writing.  Nope.  All I gained working in a bar was an intolerance for the words “Oy, Luv!” and an affinity for gin.

Mixing drinks taught me to mix better drinks.  Writing teaches me to write better.

I often forget how lucky I am to have a day job that allows me to write every day.  Even better, it also provides the occasional opportunity to write something creative.  Pretty sweet deal, when I think about it.

Write for Your Life has a great new post on this here.

  1. February 25, 2010 at 4:18 pm

    Many thanks for linking to WfYL – much appreciated. And I’m glad you get the chance to write every day too. Manuela was very kind saying I was able to combine writing in the day with writing at night, but it’s often very unpleasant!]

    Anyway, thanks again and best of luck with your scribbling.

  2. February 25, 2010 at 7:27 pm

    Thank you for the link and kind mention. The copywriter’s lot is a funny one, isn’t it? Writing all the time, but crying inside ‘cos you’re not writing all the time… is the grass really greener?! What I’m holding out for is The Holy Ghost of Writing: the idea will just take a grip one day and I’ll have no choice but to go with it. Blind faith, in other words! May it come to us both 😉

    • February 28, 2010 at 9:52 pm

      I loved the post–every struggle seems more manageable when you know you’re not alone! It’s a tough gig, writing both for life and livelihood, but a rewarding one.

      The Holy Ghost of Writing visits me on a regular basis, but I have yet to create anything to do him justice. But you’re right, we just need to have a little faith and keep on writing.

      May you get your visit from the Holy Ghost of Writing soon–at least you can be sure of having the skill set to do him justice!

  3. February 27, 2010 at 11:13 pm

    Judging by the number of scenarios about which friends/family have suggested I write, I’m assuming people think writers are something like stenographers.

  4. February 28, 2010 at 10:01 pm

    Very true. If I hear someone else tell me that I should write a book about (insert uninspiring situation here) I am going to have a MASSIVE HEAD EXPLOSION!!!

    If you think (aforementioned uninspiring situation) is so exciting, write about it yourself.

    I think this rant will go on for a bit, I may have to write a post about it.

    This must be a very common misconception–I get many “copywriting” jobs that could be done much more effectively by a stenographer. Really.

  5. March 6, 2010 at 4:22 am

    I currently looking for a new job and leaning in the copy writing direction. I’ve already sold my soul writing business mailers for a Real Estate company and would love to do something with more room for at least a little creativity.

  6. March 8, 2010 at 12:43 am

    I understand the soul selling dilemma, but not being able to afford to eat made my soul pretty miserable. There’s nothing wrong with getting a day job that actually pays you to write.

    If you’ve been writing business mailers you’ve already been copywriting. My day job is sometimes creative (hooray!) but often it’s mailers, articles for SEO, blurbs of website copy, etc. It is called work, after all.

    Best of luck on the job search! You’re sure to find something that suits.

  7. March 24, 2010 at 10:09 am

    Hello! I like your positive copywriting spins, I try and tell myself the same kind of things but I often forget about them when I hit 10,000 words of utter advertising/seo drivel in a week and barely 1000 creative ones.

    But yes, practice has to be one of the biggest boons. That and the fact I can type much faster since taking up a copy job! Good luck 🙂

  8. March 25, 2010 at 11:32 am

    Yes, I need these posts to remind myself. It’s easy to forget (especially when you get into the SEO stuff–ugh, ugh) that this is great practice!

    And, of course, typing speed does help! Good luck to you too!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

