Home > Copywriting, Random thoughts, writing > Is your blog taking over your life?

Is your blog taking over your life?

Okay, clearly not.

But I was only away from blogging for a little while and thrown into a tizzy.  Alarming.  Also, I frequent Copyblogger as a way to keep up-to-date with my day-job industry news and trends, and was inspired by this post.

So here is the question:  do we bloggers replace blog-socializing with actual socializing?

I find myself ducking out of the lounge to hide upstairs, gleefully reading all my guilty-pleasure blogs.  I have blog-conversations in the comment trails.  I post something here and wait for someone to comment.  And then I comment back.  It’s like talking, only I’m alone in my room.

And then if I’ve been away from my computer, I feel like I’ve been locked away in some sort of prison.  Only I haven’t.  I’ve been doing un-blog stuff.  Working.  Speaking.  Getting some sun (yes, even in London).   I think it’s called life.

But it feels incomplete without my blogger-friends.

Still.  I don’t neglect my people-friends.  I have heard no complaints since I started blogging.  Most of them don’t even know about this blog.

And so.

Of course we need to step away from our laptops and have people-conversations and people-friends.  But still.  It’s nice to have blogger-conversations and blogger-friends too.  It’s always nice to have another friend, after all.

Okay, enough fuzzy bloggy-love.  Promise to be cranky, gin-swilling,  sarcastic self in next post.

  1. March 19, 2010 at 12:20 am

    Recently I started paying attention to my stats – because they make me happy – and I feel like I’m now constantly refreshing to see if this month will outdo the last. But I can safely say after five years of blogging – first on myspace and then here – that I do not neglect my tangible-friends. If anything, being a homebody with a son who we don’t like having sitted accounts for that.

  2. Lua
    March 19, 2010 at 7:01 am

    Haha I loved your fuzzy bloggy-love post! 🙂
    The thing is, I think when it comes to friendship, it’s really important to have something in common that you share with each other. I close my laptop and I go outside and meet with my friends and go see a movie, but my blog allows me something that’s very special and unique- a group of friends that I can talk to about my passion- writing! 🙂 Which is why the conversations I have here are just as “real” and great as the conversations I have with people face to face…
    When I post something, I do wonder what my blogger friends will think of it and I care a great deal about their opinions, I love reading what they post and comment on them, just like I’m doing right now:)
    I’m already curious, waiting for your next “cranky, gin-swilling, sarcastic” post! 🙂

  3. March 23, 2010 at 10:23 pm

    Well, I have not noticed any neglect towards my outside friends. I HAVE noticed, however, how important my blogger-friends have become. And perhaps it is this common bond–this crazy compulsion to write something that will matter to someone, somewhere–that makes us such an important band of support for each other.

    Ah, bollocks. Am sounding all fuzzy again.

    • March 23, 2010 at 10:24 pm

      Lolol. Whatchagonnado.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

