Home > Copywriting, Fiction, Random thoughts, writing > What really matters to me?

What really matters to me?

My manuscript (and all the ones to come).  The people I care about (love).  Creativity.  Freedom.  Feeling (and making others feel).

And then, somewhere down the line, comes this:

My career.

But in terms of time spent on each thing, the list reads more like this…

Career.  And then lots of other crap that sucks up time and I don’t even know where it all goes.  People.  And then all the vague ones that are big parts of everything else like creativity, freedom, etc.  My manuscript is scarily low on the time-list.

Huh.

Recent turmoil in my day-job has forced me to ask myself this important question.  The time I spend working/worrying about/etc. my career is disproportionate to how much it matters to me.

And don’t get me wrong.  My career matters.  A lot (though, lets face it, someday I hope to be a lovely, published writer, and then my career will be writing my books, which I love, love, LOVE anyway).  And I try to combine it with other things that matter (creativity, people, and freedom, etc).

But.

I have decided.  First, the things that matter most.  Writing (not day-job writing–MY writing), people, creativity.

What will get me to where I want to be more quickly?  Working on my MS.  Not working ridiculous hours at the day job.

So.  Resolution: I will spend a little time each day devoted to my top 2.  The Manuscript.  And people.

It doesn’t have to be lots.  Just a scribble on my notepad while I’m at work.  A moment to have a conversation instead of staying glued to my computer.

Baby steps.

So blogger-friends: what matters to you?  And how does the time you spend compare?

And also: what are you going to do about it?

  1. anitramarie
    April 21, 2010 at 11:19 pm

    Good question. I guess writing matters most, along with family, and there’s no way I could leave out my pets. Though I’ve been trapped in the Dark Void of Writer’s Block for some time now. i’m spending a lot more time on finding a way out of it.

    • April 22, 2010 at 8:25 pm

      Ah writer’s block! I feel for you (and with you, quite often). I think of it a bit like London weather–it’s dark and miserable and you can never be certain how long it will last, and however long it lasts always seems like FOREVER. But. The sun comes out again. Always.

      I’m sure the sun will find you again very soon. Trust me. It always does.

  2. April 22, 2010 at 8:21 am

    My ‘matters to’ list is very similar to yours actually! And, like you, far too much of my time, energy and worries go into something that technically isn’t that important to me.

    Obviously I want to succeed at the day job, because I like to do well, but sometimes I wonder if that’s really the best long-term plan for me. Because – and I keep reminding myself of this at the moment – if you’re thinking of letting something slide, it really better not be the people 🙂

    Good luck with it, I hope you find more time in your day for creativeness

    • April 22, 2010 at 8:27 pm

      It’s even harder for us who have copy day-jobs, I think. Because no matter what sort of copy we need to write, it’s still writing. It’s still a part of our craft. And that means we are going to take it a little bit personally.

      And yes, people must never slide. Everything–even writing–is about connecting with people in some way.

      Many thanks for the encouragement!

      • April 22, 2010 at 8:54 pm

        You’re totally right, I get stroppy because even though, for example, SEO articles are not what exactly what I had in mind, they still require some creativeness – and therefore I care (at least a little).

        Fingers crossed we both have copy-work joy!

  3. Lua
    April 22, 2010 at 3:27 pm

    My matters list is also quiet similar to yours- my writing & the people I love. (hmm, I can consider my dogs under this category, can’t I? I know, I know, I AM the crazy dog lady!:) )
    And when I think about it, I can’t really find anything else that really matters to me… Though I’m not really sure if that’s a good thing or a bad thing.

    • April 22, 2010 at 8:28 pm

      Good thing. At least you know. So many people don’t even have that.

      And yes, your dogs can count.

  4. April 22, 2010 at 4:53 pm

    My matters list starts with my family and seconds with my literary career. And that’s exactly how I spend my time – being blessed to be supported by what I do as my husband’s assistant (no, that’s not a paying gig) while he studies. I’m really grateful that I live with less but have the life I want. 🙂 I’m sure you’ll find your balance!

  5. April 22, 2010 at 8:29 pm

    I envy you! And yes, balance has been on my mind quite a lot lately. I’ll get there.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

