Home > Fiction, Random thoughts, writing > Writing in the 3rd Person

Writing in the 3rd Person

A Blank White Page has been toying with the idea of writing in the third person.  Her reasons for this are as follows:

1 – ABWP sometimes feels that the author of this blog is actually a separate person from her daytime alter-ego, so writing in the 3rd person seems natural.

2 – ABWP is currently writing a MS in the 1st person, so she’d like to keep her 3rd person writing skills fresh.

3 – Variety is the spice of life (yes, ABWP occasionally has VODKA with her tonic.  Sometimes she even has a pint!  She is a wild, adventurous soul!)

ABWP is interested in the effect this has on writing.  Her first MS was written in the 3rd person, but she has chosen 1st person for her current WIP.  She finds this quite limiting–but also quite exciting!  The intimacy!  The direct-line into the mind of the character!  But also only ONE character and perspective!

What think you, blogger-friends?  Do you prefer to read (or write) in one or the other?  What are the advantages and disadvantages of each?

  1. Lua
    May 14, 2010 at 5:42 pm

    First person is Lua’s favorite point of view, both reading & writing! She finds it very intimate, very close to the character and easier to relate like she’s chatting with a good friend 🙂
    She also thinks she would like to read more posts from ABWP, she loves her writing and her sense of humor!
    (And yes- she has tequila in her orange juice from time to time and she’s proud of it!) 😉

  2. May 18, 2010 at 4:54 pm

    ABWP loves Lua’s 1st person voice and finds it appropriate for her intimate writing style (in both blog posts and stories).

    She also thinks Lua has a talent for 3rd-person writing (fun, isn’t it?).

    ABWP is cold and anonymous (except to her blogger-friends, who she loves) and is trying out the third person to see how it fits…

    What is this tequila and OJ of which you speak? ABWP is determined to try this at the first available opportunity.

  3. jesseowalls
    June 11, 2010 at 3:45 pm

    I like both, and have written in both. My first manuscript was in 1st person, and I enjoyed creating a world where all that was known to the reader was what the character himself knew. It was much more intimate, and there was more insight into the soul of the main character. However, when trying to pitch a manuscript, I have come to find that most publishers prefer 3rd person (despite how many books you can find in stores written from a 1st peron perspective). I tried writing in 3rd person, and at first it was difficult, but eventually I got the hang of it. Being able to tell a story from different perspectives and give more information than what is known to any one character gave me more freedom, though it also made writing a bit trickier; there were more characters I had to keep track of. Anyways, to conclude because I could go on forever, I feel that writing in 1st or 3rd person really depends on what I am wanting for the reader to know. If I want their knowledge limited to one character, I go with 1st person (I have never written from a 3rd person limited point-of-view) though if I wish for them to have knowledge outside of the main character’s point-of-view, I go with 3rd person.

  4. June 24, 2010 at 12:14 am

    Good points…I’m enjoying the intimacy of the 1st person POV, but it is a bit limiting. I’m wondering what POV I’ll choose for the next MS. Whatever sounds better in my head, I guess.

    Thanks again!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

