Home > Copywriting, Fiction, MASSIVE HEAD EXPLOSION!, writing > When writing well isn’t good enough

When writing well isn’t good enough

ABWP had a rough day yesterday.  She is still looking for a new copy day job, and has been fielding rejections.

(Also London was dark and cold, and when she tried to go running, it rained on her.)

Feedback has been this: her writing samples are good, interview responses are good, but others have more experience.

Darkness falls.

This got her thinking about her manuscript, and all the factors that go into finding an agent/publisher/etc.  ABWP has been of the firm belief that the key to getting published is to have a good story, and write it well.

But what if that is not enough?  The market is saturated?  The theme is unpopular this season?

MASSIVE HEAD EXPLOSION!!!

But then, today, London was all blue skies and sunshine.

And she thought:  I can’t change my experience.  But I can polish my portfolio.  I can change how many agencies I approach.  I can overhaul my cover letter.

And also: I can’t change the market.  But I can polish my manuscript.  I can change how many agents I approach.  I can overhaul my query letter.

And so.  The point, blogger friends, is this:

Stop stressing about the stuff you can’t change.  Do something about the stuff you can.

ABWP is still trying to follow her own advice.  But tomorrow is meant to be sunny again.  That should help.

  1. June 3, 2010 at 2:02 am

    We lived the same moral today. Lots of queries were sent, one memorable rejection came in. Be at my place tomorrow to read a quote. 😉

  2. Lua
    June 3, 2010 at 8:27 am

    It’s like 10000 degrees here and Lua wants to panic, stress over her career and the fact that she is supposed to be revising, writing a query letter etc and getting ready for a pile of rejection letters but she just can’t… It’s too hot, she is too blah and envies you for going out for running!
    And also- I tagged you with a game, come check it out 🙂

  3. June 3, 2010 at 10:26 am

    10000 degrees sounds lovely. Wait till you get to the UK. It happened to me. It will happen to you. You will feel that you may never be warm again. Even when running.

    Also, panicking and stressing over career, MS, etc is overrated. Really.

  4. June 8, 2010 at 6:04 pm

    I’ve been told I give reat advice … I just have yet to listen to myself.
    And I hate, hate, hate the experience schpeel. How in the name of God am I going to GET experience if you don’t GIVE it to me?
    Rant over, off to follow your advice and edit some more …

    • June 20, 2010 at 10:51 pm

      I know, I know! Many thanks for the encouragement! I’m off to follow my own advice as well (so much easier to give than to follow, eh?)

  5. June 14, 2010 at 9:01 pm

    Good luck finding a some good copy times or, even better, some good fiction times. I keep thinking of going the London route, just cause the pay is so much better than in Scotland, but it’s the darn tubes and all the people that stop me. Hope you make it to the top of the pile on your next interview 🙂

  6. June 20, 2010 at 10:57 pm

    Ah, many thanks! Yeah, London is great, but you’ve got to have a sense of humour about the tubes and the people. Mostly I love it! I have been meaning to mission it up to Scotland for a little holiday. Perhaps I shall do that with the paycheck from my new job! Surely it will materialise soon!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

