Home > Copywriting, Fiction, writing > Ooh! ABWP is blushing a bright red!

Ooh! ABWP is blushing a bright red!

Well, gee.  And here I was all ready to write a snarky post about something or other.  And then I saw that I had been awarded this lovely little award by both Bethany (my first-ever commenter and blogger-friend) and Miss Rosemary!  Thank you, thank you to you both! Everyone should check out both their blogs.

Er, and so I am required to provide seven revelations (confessions) on the personage that is (behind)  ABWP.  Here goes…

1) I like to read silly, teen books like Twilight and Harry Potter but I only take serious Cormack McCarthy, Virginia Wolf, etc books on the tube.  Because people will see.  And I am too old to be seen reading Harry Potter.

2) I am terrified of rubber bands.

3) Orange is my favourite colour, and I have orange toenails throughout the summer months.

4) I am uncommonly short.  I try to hide this with the constant use of monster heels (which sometimes get stuck in the groves of the tube escalator) to no avail.

5) I drink pints far more often than gin.  (This is totally a financial decision.  I would drink Tanqueray and Tonic all the time if it was the same price as a pint.  Because gin is way more delicious.  But times are tough.)

6)  Sometimes I can’t sleep because I worry that this MS that I am writing will end up unpublished, unread, and unfulfilled just like my first MS that is now collecting dust in a corner.  And I wonder what my life will have meant, if I cannot do just this, this one little thing that I have always wanted and that I somehow use to measure my self worth.  This is when the gin helps.

7) The human behind ABWP is fairly quiet, proper, and actually kind of a nice person (hard to believe, I know) who cares about soft, mushy things like other people’s feelings (she is only kinda snarky to very special people who know her well).  This is kind of a secret.  Don’t tell anyone.

And now I get to pass it along!  Hooray!  I’m totally mentioning people who’ve gotten it already because I like them.  So there.

1) Lynsey May – She’s got a great perspective on writing, and also has a copy day job so can relate to a lot of my copywriting rants (always appreciated).

2) MilkFever – Lisa is great for encouragement.

3) Write for your life – good info on general writing and the techie stuff like podcasts

4)  Write-or-die – straight talking,.no-nonsense account on writing books

5)  Rachelle Gardner – for a literary agent, there’s a lot of great variety on her blog (hence the mention)

6) Lua – my 2nd ever commenter, and another faithful blogger-friend who consistently posts great content and is lightning quick responding to comments.

7) I’m using this as a combined re-thanks to Bethany, my first-ever commenter (yup, we hit it right off) and Miss Rosemary for the award (I know you’ve already got one, but you totally deserve it).

  1. June 24, 2010 at 1:00 am

    I love that you got it twice! 🙂 Clearly you will not go unread, because you have not! Hah-zah!

    And I want something of yours to read, missy.

    • June 24, 2010 at 9:32 pm

      Something to read. (MASSIVE HEAD EXPLOSION!!!) I know, I know. I’m working up to it. I told you about the rubber band thing!

  2. Lua
    June 24, 2010 at 6:30 am

    Congratulations on the awards!!! I LOVE your blog, I wish you posted more- I can never read enough of your posts 🙂
    I read the whole twilight Saga, secretly in my room and if you ask me in public, I will deny it, saying I was reading crime & punishment!
    Orange should be my favorite color, but its not- it’s blue… At least it should be my favorite fruit, but its not- it’s apple… (I have NO idea why I named my blog Bowl of Oranges haha)
    #6 is my worst nightmare, also keeping me up at nights… Tequila helps.
    And I never doubted #7… 😉
    Thank you so much for passing the award to me- you made my day my friend! 🙂

  3. June 24, 2010 at 9:34 pm

    Awww, thanks. Yeah, Twilight is a bit of a dirty little secret. I’m totally reading The Road next. Or Mrs. Dalloway. Or similar (Crime&Punishment, perhaps).

  4. June 27, 2010 at 7:08 pm

    Hahaha! “I like to read teen books like Twilight and Harry Potter but I only take Virginia Woolf books Etc. on the tube because people will see!” That’s hilarious!

  5. July 12, 2010 at 8:44 pm

    Sad, but true!

  6. July 15, 2010 at 10:23 am

    awww, look – this was ages ago and I never even noticed! fail to me and the world of too much copy and not enough fun writing and reading!

    Thanks! Rubber bands, really?

    • July 15, 2010 at 8:46 pm

      Haha…I’m pretty rubbish at keeping up with the day job, blogging, fun writing, etc. so it’s kind of comforting that other people struggle too.

      And, yes. Rubber bands. Really.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

