Home > Copywriting, Fiction, MASSIVE HEAD EXPLOSION!, writing > On rationalization and procrastination

On rationalization and procrastination

Okay, so clearly it’s been a while since I’ve written a post.  And here’s a big list of all my excuses:

1) I was moving flats (clearly necessary to avoid stabbing, being devoured by mice, or similar)

2) I had to do work for clients (you know, the people who pay the rent in my new, non-mouse-infested flat)

3) I had to catch up with old friends (after many texts and emails with lots of scary capital letters and excessive punctuation using scary words like “intervention”)

4)  London has been sunny (okay, so I totally had to sit outside because London is NEVER sunny and this was perhaps my last chance to soak up and store some sun so I don’t die of vitamin D deficiency or similar come autumn)

5) I had to apply for jobs (yes, still, and some job applications are like NOVELS with the notable exception that novels are actually quite fun and interesting and job applications most certainly are NOT)

6) I had a MASSIVE HEAD EXPLOSION!!! and was, understandably, unable to write coherent sentences thereafter

So.  This is a lovely bit of rationalization.  And it isn’t good enough.  But I do this all the time, with this blog and–scarily–with my current WIP.  But there is no excuse for letting something that matters so much to me to slide for so long!

What do you think, blogger friends?  How do you beat the procrastination and rationalization bug?

Also…an aside: I wanted to give credit to Bill Waterson for the Calvin and Hobbes comic strip above.  Because, let’s face it, Calvin and Hobbes was brilliant and the “funnies” just aren’t the same any more.  But I couldn’t find an official site.  Best I can do is tell you to buy the books here. I have all the books.  If you don’t, you should buy them because they are amazing and you’ll smile for months.  (Disclaimer: I am not in any way affiliated with Calvin and Hobbes or publishers, booksellers, or similar but I totally wish I was because, as I said, they are amazing)

  1. Ana
    July 13, 2010 at 12:22 am

    I watched a video on TED. The guy is a ceo of a design company. He was arguing that taking a year worth of vacation is more productive than working straight. That helped a lot.
    I mean, if the guy procrastinates and rationalizes it so academicaly and charmingly, Calvin certainly is in the right track. hahah =)
    Good luck on your new flat! And with the applications!

    • July 13, 2010 at 11:13 pm

      Haha, thanks! See! It’s an important life skill!

  2. Lua
    July 13, 2010 at 8:16 pm

    Oh well- having a MASSIVE HEAD EXPLOSION can make blogging difficult but I also suffer from rationalization and procrastination. I guess it’s a bug that bites writers and writers only! I have to move along with my revisions and start working on my short sorry but instead I’m secretly making my own ‘list’… And strangely enough mine also has ‘massive head explosion’ on it 🙂

  3. July 13, 2010 at 11:15 pm

    We writers are great at rationalization! I think it goes hand in hand with telling stories. So really, it’s like practice! Good luck with your revisions (and your list)!

  4. July 14, 2010 at 12:03 am

    Okay, I read this immediately and am coming back to comment. 🙂 I ❤ C&H (see, we're so tight I don't even use the full name) and somehow do not own the books that I used to go to Barnes and Noble to read, lol. I need to get those and the Deep Thoughts books.

    • August 19, 2010 at 6:50 am

      Okay, I’ve totally trumped your procrastination example by responding to your comment a month later.

      Also, I’m so glad someone else went to Barnes and Noble to read books for free! This is how I read Les Mis–in chunks in a Barnes and Noble cafe (as an afterthought–it would have been cheaper to buy the book than all those cups of coffee, but anyway, I was young and stupid).

  5. July 14, 2010 at 10:26 pm

    Love Calvin and Hobbes. And congrats on the new flat and sun. Definitely an acceptable excuse for not posting.

    • August 19, 2010 at 6:52 am

      Ah, thanks for helping me justify my inconsistency! I am moving flats again, but this time to the prosperous North (of the river–not out of London, clearly). Hooray! The sun, sadly, has gone South early for the winter.

  6. July 17, 2010 at 11:36 pm

    Sometimes it isn’t rationalisation, sometimes there are actually reasons for avoiding something. I guess it depends how valid you determine your reasons to be as to whether you are making a flimsy rationalisation or actually have a reason.
    Best of luck and I hope your head recovers from its explosion.

  7. August 19, 2010 at 6:57 am

    Well, thanks. I suppose I do have to write my clients blogs before my own (they are paying me, after all), and I do need a place to live, etc. I just hate that it’s my own work–which I love–that seems to slip first. Ah, well.

    Many thanks…my head is recovering. I’m scraping the last bit of gray matter off the walls.

  1. August 19, 2010 at 6:46 am

Leave a Reply

