Binge Blogging

So needing to write another blog post has been weighing on my mind for ages, and I haven’t gotten around to it for all the same reasons listed below.

My last post (over a month ago now) was on Procrastination and Rationalization.  Oh, the irony!

(really, this is at the MASSIVE HEAD EXPLOSION!!! level of irony)

It seems that I belong to the binge school of blogging.  If you’ve been around this blog you know what I’m talking about–I’ll be off the radar for a week or two, and then I’ll go back and read all of your blogs, comment on all the posts I’ve missed, respond to my own comments, and finally write another post.  You know who you are–you’re about to get a month’s worth of comments on your blogs!

Just counting how many of your posts I have to read to get up to speed is making me blush!  (Bethany, Lua, Rosemary–seriously?  You’re putting me to shame!)

The thing is, I’m like this with most things in life.  I was like this in University (you know, starting the term paper three days before the deadline and then not sleeping for two nights straight).  I’m like this with dieting (I eat chocolate and muffins until it becomes impossible to breathe in my jeans and I resemble a muffin myself, then switch to salads and lengthy runs around the park).  I’m even like this with laundry (you know, I’m out of clean knickers and down to my last pair of bikini bottoms before I do five loads straight).  I’m like this with my MS (nothing, then I get a burst and write a bunch of chapters).

Copyblogger calls this being a Sprinter, and I thought…totally not true copyblogger, when I run I’m pretty slow, but I can go for a long time.  Which means, I suppose, that there’s a bit of endurance runner and sprinter in all of us.  The trick is finding balance.

I’m (obviously) still working on it.  Suggestions welcome.

  1. August 19, 2010 at 9:12 am

    Yay! I gotz make-up comments! 😀

  2. August 19, 2010 at 11:19 am

    Haha…a whole month’s worth…

    Also, it’s fun because I can talk about later posts in earlier comments and sound super-insightful whilst still being my (sometimes slightly moronic) self.

  3. August 19, 2010 at 4:36 pm

    LOL!

  4. Lua
    August 19, 2010 at 6:05 pm

    Haha I love your blogging style- it’s so Sherlock Holmesy (that’s not really a word is it?)! You come, you read and comment on everything, publish a cool post and disappear again… 😉
    No suggestions- it’s your thing and it looks like it’s working for you. I was like that with papers in university, I’m still like that with dieting and exercise and laundry and ironing and… you get the idea 🙂

  5. August 20, 2010 at 4:28 pm

    Haha! Yes! This is what I love about you! You tell me I’m not inconsistent and a huge procrastinator…I’m Sherlock Holmesy! Mysterious! Like a blogging ghost! Hahaha…

  6. August 21, 2010 at 12:28 am

    Oh please, don’t judge by me. I’m just desperate for hits and stats and feedback on my writing that’s all. I really don’t have time for blogging, but it’s become a sort of teherapy for me when I have a ton going on or am really stressed/sad. I like hearing from people who like reading me.

    Suggestion – go on your own pace. Who cares what others think/do? You’ve got a loyal follower in me!

    • August 23, 2010 at 3:46 pm

      Oh, God. I don’t even think about stats (that’s like day-job stuff). But I guess it kinda works for me. Maybe I can pass it off as a protest on the conventional blogging style of consistency and regularly updated content. Or maybe not.

  7. August 23, 2010 at 3:20 pm

    Binge blogging has got to be better for you than most other binges, except for maybe drinking… I wouldn’t stress about it, some people plod along and others are all about the mad dash – but it can be impossible to tell which is which from their writing so as long as you’re happy, it’s all good.

    • August 23, 2010 at 3:43 pm

      Okay, I do kinda like binge blogging…maybe not as much as binge drinking, but definitely more than binge dieting.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

